imagination

At times, I feel as if my imagination gets the best of me.  I tend to get caught up in every little detail. I crave true stories with infinite emotion. But looking around I can sense the disapproval.  When did it become “naïve” to get caught up in your imagination?

When people say they feel alone, I have to assume they are talking about their emotional being because mentally it is impossible to be alone. There is constant hope, dreams, and anticipation of something more to come.

There is often criticism of the imagination because of its false pretenses. People say these assumptions are just too unrealistic they are impossible to achieve. I have to respectively disagree.  If we can’t dream then how can we move forward?

For some, imagination is a small tool used to go just beyond reality but for others it’s everything. Let’s just say I fall into the everything category. I crave stories in books, poems, songs, people, anything that has a story and a meaning. I devour the feeling that comes along with the story. It is what gets me out of bed in the morning and keeps me awake until ungodly hours.

I do have to say that this does get out of hand when I am too consumed in something. As my current roommate can attest to, once I start something I find passion in I can’t stop until it’s over. This includes reading trilogies in less than 48 hours and staying up until 2 am to find out the hopefully upbeat ending. 

But I’ve come to realize that not everything ends happily ever after. It doesn’t end tragically, but it doesn’t end on an even note. American filmmakers always choose the better and happier ending, but I have been introduced to one to many films where it the conclusion is simply unsatisfying. 

If I get caught up in all of these what if’s and happily-ever-after’s, than how many real moments have I missed?  Through mediation, I have been taught to take a step back every now and then, well twice a day to be exact, and give my mind a break. This break gives perspective and with perspective comes perceptiveness. 

The imagination has the power to take us to a different world without actually going there. Words will be words on a page until we put a little imagination into it, then it becomes magic. Never your imaginations overcome you. It should be used not to escape reality, but to create it. Be infinite, not limited. And never forget to use your imagination.   

G xx 

One thought on “imagination

Leave a comment